Pages Navigation Menu

After Quartet



The After Quartet believes that a contemporary musical interpretation and context for films from the silent era will bring a vibrancy and integrity that will connect to today’s audiences more readily than scores written in the musical language of the 1920’s and 30’s. It is in this spirit of breathing new air into aging masterpieces that our music is composed and performed.

About the Artist: 


The After Quartet performs live music to films in the tradition of the Silent Film Era’s orchestras and organists. The group formed in 1993 and originally focused on improvised music. In 1998, however, the University of Oregon Cultural Forum commissioned Brian McWhorter to compose a score to Fritz Lang’s Metropolis. The success of this venture thrust the After Quartet into its current mode of being one of the few groups dedicated to the art of live musical accompaniment of silent film.


For more information, see

Featured Visual Artist: 
Season 6, Concert 1: Thursday, November 10, 2005

Films by Buster Keaton
The Goat
The Boat
The Electric House

The Man Without a World